2017 Finalists

ORIGINOFTHE.NET (2017)

Amanda Low

ORIGINOFTHE.NET (2017) - Website

Those who use the internet daily often take it for granted, without fully understanding the histories that led to the creation of this tool that is such a familiar part of our lives. ORIGINOFTHE.NET is a mythic retelling of the history of the internet, bringing attention to the lesser known vestiges of the World Wide Web. Inspired by classic text-based role-playing games, the interactive website leads the user like a tourist through its bowels, showcasing artifacts from internet history on its web pages. By allowing the user to influence its narrative by choosing between hyperlinks, this work replicates the experience of navigating online space within an experimental form of storytelling.

Amanda Low is a recent OCAD University graduate who plays with medium-specific narratives and storytelling through both traditional and non-traditional animation. Currently, her practice deals with web art and the browser as a medium. She is interested in the behaviors, tropes and memes of internet culture, and often uses found content in her web pieces sourced from various social media outlets. When she is not making web art, Amanda Low is also an aspiring animator.

AEIUO (2017)

Fanny Huard

AEIUO (2017) - Animation, 5:24

AEIUO aims to question the relationship between sound and image, asking: is it possible to visually evoke a sound without using a soundtrack?

In graphic design, the sound component often comes at the end of the creative process after one has created animations in complete silence. AEIUO works oppositely, starting from sounds in order to create images. The goal is to make the viewer hear sounds through a series of silent images, specifically in the format of the animated GIF. Inspired by the graphics and gridlines of comic books, AEIUO speaks to how digital tools have allowed us to animate our daily lives—for example, in the speech bubbles of instant messenger.

The project’s starting point is Arthur Rimbaud's poem “Voyelles”: “A black, E white, I red, U green, O blue: vowels, I shall tell, one day, of your mysterious origins.” The poem reveals a particular case of synesthesia, the neurological phenomenon by which multiple senses connect. As Claude Lévi-Strauss points out in Look, Listen, Read (1993), Rimbaud facilitates a fusion of sounds and colors in his poem. Drawing from Rimbaud and Levi-Strauss, AEIUO plays with this form of synesthesia through acts of reading, onomatopoeia, movement, anticipation, and sonic symbols such as the atomic bomb – a visual that bears increased significance in today’s political climate.

Fanny Huard graduated in graphic design from the Université du Québec à Montréal where she specialized in animation. Her work explores movement and the relationship between sound and image via animated GIFs. Like silent films, this animation format intended for the web has the particularity of being mute. The spectator has to imagine the sound as they watch the images pass before their eyes. The GIF is also used as a support for observation and analysis, as one animation can be looped forever. Inspired by comics, Huard’s work depicts a noisy and colourful world, in perpetual movement.

Continuous Resistance Remix (2013)

Fallon Simard

Continuous Resistance Remix (2013) - Video, 5:10

Continuous Resistance Remix takes thirty YouTube mp4s that examine residential schools through personal interviews and black and white propaganda films, resource blockades by Elsipogtog youth, Idle No More footage from Couchiching First Nation, and forest fires started from resource extraction sites and finally, remixes the image and audio into a five-minute short video. The structure of the video adds to the continuous temporality of state violence perpetuated onto Indigenous bodies. It does so by pairing 2015 Elsipogtog film frames next to 1918 Canadian Residential School propaganda film footage. Elsipogtog illustrates youth and elders lining up against a human blockade comprised of the Canadian military who were using excessive force, and the propaganda video illustrates Priests cutting Indigenous children’s hair in black and white. The film looks at the different forms state violence manifest within a colonial, patriarchal, and heteronormative government that occupies Indigenous land. By remixing communities from east to west together, we see the struggles and strengths of Indigenous communities as they continue to fight for their land, rights, and self-determination.

Fallon Simard is an Anishinabe artist and filmmaker from Couchiching First Nation, in Treaty #3 Territory. They are a gender non-confirming interdisciplinary artist. Their work examines state violence perpetuated on to Indigenous bodies within a context of colonialism. Their work looks at intersections of land, extraction, mental health, and violence. Fallon is a recent graduate of OCADU's Interdisciplinary Masters of Arts, Media, and Design and recently screened videos at Trinity Square Video’s Themed Commission, “The Moving Copy.”

Sometimes the wind in the cloud, when it is being secreted (2017)

Micaela González

Sometimes the wind in the cloud, when it is being secreted (2017) - Digital animation, 06:13

Sometimes the wind in the cloud, when it is being secreted is a female portrait in motion and an exercise and reflection in time.

The digital age has influenced our perception and expectations of time; we have a mediated experience of daily events. Personal technologies demand immediacy, and attention spans shorten to accommodate the fast pace of digital life. In this context, the passing of time is perceived by the mind, but not fully experienced by the body, resulting in an accelerated process of memory reconstruction and a loss of consciousness of change over time. Sometimes the wind in the cloud, when it is being secreted proposes the deceleration of time, and challenges the viewer to be patient, feeling the seconds pass in order to discover the work’s subtle evolution.

Micaela González is a painter and media artist based in Toronto. With an intuitive approach, González explores narrative composition through a language of fragments and reconstruction. Her practice investigates the concept of space-time as a psychic and bodily transformation, and considers how perception shapes human experience in the contemporary context. González holds a BFA in Film Production and Cinema Studies from the University of Buenos Aires, and was finalist in the international painting competition, the Celeste Prize, in 2014. She has exhibited her work in Toronto, Buenos Aires, and Milan.

Puntito_visual (2016)

Pipo Pierre-Louis

Puntito_visual (2016) - Animation, 06:32

The point is a small world in itself – more or less isolated from all sides and almost torn off from its surroundings. The integration to its surroundings is minimal and seems nonexistent...
Kandinsky

Named after the Spanish diminutive of the word point, Puntito_visual is a form study aimed at the creation of an audiovisual language capable of communicating social experiences and personal observations on individuality. Through the use of familiar visual metaphors that evoke the place of the individual in our culture, this piece tries to grasp the subtle and intuitive meaning of individuality as a social phenomenon. Using figures such as the circle, the point, and the sphere, Puntito_visual uses an abstract language charged with social meanings and symbols to reveal the poetics of the overlooked in society.

Pipo Pierre-Louis is a sound, video, and new media artist born in Quito, Ecuador and established in Montreal, Canada. Directly influenced by an array of different cultures and a variety of academic disciplines since his early life, he creates new media art, music and sound-based compositions, and performances shaped by rich personal experiences. His artistic practice focuses on producing visual imprints of modernism that speak to contemporary social behaviors and environmental activism, using technological media as a form of translation. He is presently undertaking a master’s degree in electroacoustic composition under the direction of Jean Piché and Nicolas Bernier at the Université de Montréal.

2017 finalistes

AEIUO (2017) - GAGNANT

Fanny Huard

AEIUO (2017) - Animation, 5:24

AEIUO vise à remettre en cause la relation entre le son et l’image en posant la question : est-il possible d’évoquer visuellement un son sans utiliser de bande sonore?

En design graphique, le son est souvent l’élément du processus créatif qui vient en dernier, une fois que les animations ont été créées dans le silence complet. AEIUO est issu du processus inverse, celui de créer des images à partir des sons. L’objectif visé est que le spectateur entende des sons par le biais d’une série d’images muettes au format GIF animé. Inspiré du graphisme des bandes dessinées, AEIUO évoque la manière dont les outils numériques nous permettent d’animer notre vie quotidienne, par exemple, au moyen des bulles de la messagerie instantanée.

Le point de départ du projet est le sonnet « Voyelles » d’Arthur Rimbaud : « A noir, E blanc, I rouge, U vert, O bleu, voyelles, Je dirai quelque jour vos naissances latentes. ». Le sonnet constitue un exemple particulier de synesthésie, phénomène neurochirurgical de confusion des sensations. Comme le souligne Claude Lévi-Strauss dans Regarder, écouter, lire (1993), le sonnet de Rimbaud présente une fusion des sons et des couleurs. Inspiré de Rimbaud et Levi-Strauss, AEIUO fait appel à cette forme de synesthésie par la lecture, l’onomatopée, le mouvement, l’anticipation et les symboles acoustiques comme la bombe atomique, une image plus que jamais porteuse de sens vu le climat politique actuel.

Fanny Huard est diplômée en design graphique de l’Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM), où elle s’est spécialisée en animation. Son œuvre explore les mouvements et les relations entre le son et l’image par le biais des GIF animés. Comme le cinéma muet, ce format d’animation conçu pour le Web présente la particularité d’être muet. En fait, c’est au spectateur d’imaginer le son au fur et à mesure qu’il visionne les images qui défilent sous ses yeux. Le GIF est également utilisé comme moyen d’observation et d’analyse, une animation pouvant repasser en boucle. Inspirée de la bande dessinée, l'œuvre de Fanny Huard dépeint un univers coloré en perpétuel mouvement.

ORIGINOFTHE.NET (2017)

Amanda Low

ORIGINOFTHE.NET (2017) - Site Internet

Ceux qui utilisent l’Internet tous les jours tiennent souvent cet outil si familier pour acquis sans comprendre pleinement l’origine de sa création. ORIGINOFTHE.NET est un récit imaginaire de l’histoire de l’Internet qui attire l’attention sur les vestiges méconnus du Web. Inspiré des jeux de rôle textuels classiques, ce site Internet interactif guide l’utilisateur dans ses entrailles tel un touriste tout en lui montrant des artéfacts de l’histoire d’Internet à travers ses pages Web. En permettant à l’utilisateur de choisir des hyperliens, et ainsi, d’influencer le récit qui lui est présenté, cette œuvre reproduit l’expérience de la navigation dans l’univers en ligne par le biais d’une forme expérimentale de narration.

Récemment diplômée de l’Université de l’École d’art et de design de l’Ontario, Amanda Low recourt à des techniques d’animation traditionnelles et non traditionnelles pour raconter des récits sur des supports spécifiques. À l’heure actuelle, elle se consacre aux arts numériques, avec l’Internet comme support de prédilection. Elle s’intéresse aux comportements, aux tropes et aux mèmes associés à la culture Internet et tire son inspiration du contenu numérique glané dans les médias sociaux. En plus d’être artiste, Amanda Low est aussi animatrice.

Continuous Resistance Remix (2013)

Fallon Simard

Continuous Resistance Remix (2013) - Video, 5:10

« Continuous Resistance Remix » est un remixage visuel et sonore sous forme d’une vidéo de cinq minutes créée à partir de trente mp4 YouTube explorant des pensionnats autochtones par le biais d’entrevues personnelles et de vidéos de propagande en noir et blanc, des blocus par les jeunes Elsipogtog, des séquences de Jamais plus l’inaction de la Première Nation Couchiching, ainsi que des incendies de forêt provoqués par les sites d’extraction minière. La structure de la vidéo met en évidence la continuité de la violence étatique commise envers les corps autochtones. Pour ce faire, elle associe des séquences d’un film de 2015 sur les Elsipogtog avec des images tirées d’un film de propagande de 1918 sur les pensionnats autochtones du Canada. Les images sur les Elsipogtog montrent des jeunes et des aînés alignés contre un blocus humain de l’armée canadienne, qui a utilisé une force excessive, et une vidéo de propagande en noir et blanc montrant des prêtres coupant les cheveux des enfants autochtones. Le film jette un regard sur les différentes formes de violence étatique commises par un gouvernement colonialiste, patriarcal et hétéronormatif qui accapare les terres autochtones. En associant des communautés autochtones de partout au pays, la vidéo illustre les difficultés et les forces des communautés autochtones qui luttent pour leurs terres, leurs droits et leur autodétermination.

Fallon Simard est un artiste et réalisateur Anishinaabe issu de la Première Nation Couchiching du territoire du traité nº3. Simard est un artiste interdisciplinaire non conformiste sexuel. Son œuvre explore la violence étatique commise envers les corps autochtones dans le contexte du colonialisme. Elle jette un regard croisé sur la terre, l’extraction, la santé mentale et la violence. Ayant récemment reçu son diplôme de l’Université de l’École d’art et de design de l’Ontario (OCADU) à la maîtrise interdisciplinaire en arts, médias et design, Fallon a projeté récemment des vidéos commandées par le centre Trinity Square Video’s dans le cadre de l’exposition « The Moving Copy ».

Sometimes the wind in the cloud, when it is being secreted (2017)

Micaela González

Sometimes the wind in the cloud, when it is being secreted (2017) - Animation numérique, 06:13

Sometimes the wind in the cloud, when it is being secreted est un portrait de femme en images et un exercice de réflexion sur le temps qui passe.

L’ère numérique influence notre perception et nos attentes par rapport au temps, nos expériences quotidiennes passent par elle. Les technologies personnelles passent par l’instantanéité, et nos moments d’attention se réduisent pour s’adapter au rythme effréné de la vie numérique. Dans ce contexte, le temps qui passe est perçu par l’esprit, mais pas totalement vécu par le corps, ce qui entraîne une accélération de la reconstruction de la mémoire et une perte de conscience des changements avec le temps. Sometimes the wind in the cloud, when it is being secreted propose une décélération du temps et force le spectateur à faire preuve de patience, à ressentir les secondes qui passent, pour pouvoir découvrir l’évolution subtile de l’œuvre.

Micaela González est une artiste-peintre spécialisée en arts médiatiques vivant à Toronto. Elle recourt à une approche intuitive pour explorer la structure narrative grâce à un langage fait de fragments et de reconstructions. Son œuvre explore le concept de l’espace-temps en tant que transformation psychique et corporelle, et se penche sur la manière dont la perception façonne l’expérience humaine dans le contexte contemporain. Titulaire d’un baccalauréat en beaux-arts avec spécialisation en réalisation de films et en études cinématographiques de l’Université de Buenos Aires, González a été finaliste à la compétition internationale de peinture Celeste Prize en 2014. Elle a exposé ses œuvres à Toronto, à Buenos Aires et à Milan.

Puntito_visual (2016)

Pipo Pierre-Louis

Puntito_visual (2016) - Animation, 06:32

Le point est un petit monde en soi, un monde plus ou moins isolé à tous points de vue, presque arraché de son entourage. L’intégration à son entourage est si minime qu’elle semble inexistante.
Kandinsky

Nommée d’après le diminutif espagnol du mot point, Puntito_visual est une étude des formes visant à créer un langage audiovisuel capable de communiquer des expériences sociales et des observations personnelles sur l’individualité. Cette œuvre tente de saisir la signification subtile et intuitive de l’individualité en tant que phénomène social par le recours à des métaphores visuelles familières qui évoquent la personne dans notre culture. À l’aide de figures comme le cercle, le point et la sphère, Puntito_visual utilise un langage abstrait chargé de significations et de symboles sociaux dans le but de mettre en lumière la poésie des choses négligées par notre société.

Pipo Pierre-Louis est un vidéaste spécialisé dans les nouveaux médias né à Quito, en Équateur, et établi à Montréal, Canada. Directement influencé par diverses cultures et disciplines académiques depuis son tout jeune âge, il crée, pour les nouveaux médias, des œuvres artistiques, musicales et sonores, ainsi que des spectacles inspirés par ses riches expériences personnelles. Son œuvre est axée sur la production d’empreintes visuelles de modernisme qui témoignent des comportements sociaux contemporains et de l’activisme environnemental, et est exprimée par le biais des médias numériques. Il poursuit actuellement une maîtrise en composition électroacoustique sous la direction de Jean Piché et de Nicolas Bernier à l’Université de Montréal.