Guidelines

Entrant Qualifications

The EDAA focuses on emerging artists, which describes an artist within the first five years of their professional career, beginning with the artist’s first solo or group exhibition in a museum, public or commercial gallery, or artist-run center.

Applicants are not required to hold a degree in fine arts, though students are encouraged to apply. In order to qualify for the award, the applicant must be a resident of Canada, at least 18 years of age, and available to attend the screening in Toronto on October 5, 2017 if selected as a finalist.

Artwork Qualifications

The artwork submitted to the award must fit within the parameters of “digital art”, here defined as a screen-based artwork created using digital technologies. Through this award we are specifically looking for art practices that rely on the digital to exist, taking advantage of and experimenting with its immaterial qualities. Digital documentation of traditional media will not be considered.

The submitted work must be dated no earlier than five years prior to the submissions deadline. No more than one artwork can be submitted for judging.

Submission Criteria

The artwork will be judged based on four main criteria, defined as follows

Revelance

The extent to which the submitted work fits with the award criteria, specifically its focus on screen-based, digitally produced artworks. To fulfill this part of the rubric, the applicant must ensure that digital technology plays a significant role in the work’s process and presentation.

Technique

The artist’s handling of the medium, which might refer to cinematography, editing, modelling, or various other modes of production. For this purpose, “technique” does not include stylistic choices, focusing specifically on the technical capabilities of the applicant.

Aesthetics

The presentation of the work in relationship to its technique and intention. The artist’s stylistic choices and formal experimentation will be considered in this area of the rubric, alongside the content of the work.

Written component

Each applicant is asked to submit a written component explaining the work and its context. In this, we encourage applicants to acknowledge the historical precedent or influence for their work. The written component may resemble a traditional artist statement, but does not have to be approached as such.

Application Process

Deadline

Applications must be submitted by 11:59pm EST on July 10, 2017.

Applying Online

Artists must complete the online application form and upload a current curriculum vitae (CV) and digital art file as per the instructions given on the application page. If you are experiencing technical difficulty with the online application, please contact us at edaa@eqbank.ca and we will respond to your issue as soon as we can. 

Submit your work

Applying by Mail

Artists do have the option of applying to the EDAA by mail. If for any reason you would prefer mailing your submission, please contact us at edaa@eqbank.ca for more information.

File requirements

The following criteria applies according to the category of submission:

Category Format Other requirements
Motion Graphic .avi
.mov
.mpeg
.mp4
.wmv
.f4v
There is a max file size of 1 GB for motion graphics submissions. For entries with sound, Entrants must own the copyright to the sound used. If the sound is created by another individual, permission must be granted and credit given. For web and app-based entries, please provide brief instructions in your written statement.
Digital Image .gif
.jpeg
.png
Max resolution of 1280 x 800 and max file size of 500 Mb.
Application .exe
.html
Interactive programs must be compatible with Windows 7 or later (.app files not accepted)
Websites or web-based projects must be compatible with Google Chrome or Internet Explorer

Submissions must follow the naming convention FirstInitialLastName_TitleOfWork.

FAQS

Q: What are the prizes awarded?

A: The Award Winner will be awarded a $5,000 monetary prize. The remaining four Finalists will each be awarded a $1,000 monetary prize.

Q: Can the work involve physical or interactive components?

A: The EDAA is dedicated to work that runs exclusively on-screen. As such, any artwork that requires a material display beyond basic screen-space will be considered installation – though the video component of a larger work may qualify. In the case of interactive web or game-based work, the requirement of a mouse or navigational tool is acceptable.

Q: Can the work involve the use of images that have been copyrighted by someone other than the artist?

A: We acknowledge that sampling is a common tool used across digital art practices, and works that include copyrighted images will not be penalized in any way during the judging process. However, artists should note that, as per our Terms and Conditions, responsibility for the work and any copyright infringement therein belongs solely to the artist (see “The Entrant’s Covenants,” item 1).

Q: Does the $5000 prize for the winning artwork include cost of acquisition?

A: The monetary award of $5,000.00 does include the cost of acquisition. However, Equitable does not require the work to be produced in a limited edition. Work that is publicly available, online or otherwise, will also be considered. Questions about Equitable Bank’s current collecting and acquisitions policies may be sent to lleblanc@eqbank.ca.

Q: Why are finalists required to attend the screening?

A: The screening is an opportunity to introduce the artist(s) face to face to a wide community of arts workers, the media, cultural admirers, and the sponsor. Equitable wants to celebrate your success publicly and thank all participants personally for their involvement. In order to make this happen, we will cover the cost of accommodation and travel for finalists based outside the GTA to attend the finalist’s screening, award presentation and reception.

Les Orientations

Critères d'admissibilité des participants

L'EDAA met l'accent sur les artistes de la relève, c'est-à-dire des artistes qui en sont aux cinq premières années de leur carrière, laquelle commence lors de la première exposition individuelle ou de groupe dans un musée, une galerie d'art publique ou commerciale, ou un centre d'artistes.

Les candidats ne sont pas obligés de détenir un diplôme en arts. Nous encourageons toutefois les étudiants à poser leur candidature. Pour ôtre admissible au prix, le candidat doit résider au Canada, avoir au moins 18 ans et, s'il est finaliste, pouvoir assister à la projection, qui aura lieu à Toronto, le 5 octobre 2017.

Critères d'admissibilité des œuvres

Les œuvres soumises pour le prix doivent répondre aux normes des «arts numériques», que nous définissons ici comme des œuvres utilisant un écran et créées au moyen de technologies numériques. Nous recherchons spécialement, dans l'optique de ce prix, des pratiques artistiques qui doivent leur existence au numérique, qui tirent avantage des qualités immatérielles de ce dernier et qui essaient d'innover avec elles. La documentation numérique de supports classiques ne sera pas acceptée.

La date de l'œuvre soumise ne doit pas ôtre antérieure de cinq ans à la date limite de la soumission. On ne peut soumettre qu'une seule œuvre.

Critères de soumission

L'œuvre sera jugée en fonction de quatre critères principaux. Les voici

La pertinence

dans quelle mesure l'œuvre soumise répond aux critères du prix, à savoir l'accent mis sur des œuvres créées de manière numérique et basées sur un écran. S'il veut respecter ce critère, le candidat doit s'assurer que la technologie numérique représente une part importante de l'élaboration et de la présentation de l'œuvre.

La technique

Le traitement par l'artiste du média. Il peut s'agir de cinématographie, de montage, de modélisation ou de plusieurs autres moyens de production. À cette fin, la «technique» ne vise pas les choix stylistiques, elle se concentre spécifiquement sur les capacités techniques du candidat.

L'esthétique

l'aspect de l'œuvre par rapport à sa technique et à son intention. Ici, les choix stylistiques et l'expérimentation formelle de l'artiste seront pris en considération, de même que le contenu de l'œuvre.

Le texte

tous les candidats doivent soumettre un texte qui explique l'œuvre et son contexte. De cette manière, nous encourageons les candidats à préciser les précédents historiques ou les influences de leur œuvre. Le texte peut ressembler à un énoncé classique d'artiste, mais ne doit pas obligatoirement en prendre la forme.

Processus de demande

Date limite

Il faut soumettre sa candidature avant 23 h 59, heure de l'Est, le 10 juillet 2017.

Soumission en ligne

Les artistes doivent remplir le formulaire en ligne, puis téléverser un curriculum vitæ (CV) à jour et un fichier numérique de l'œuvre, conformément aux instructions données sur la page de soumission. En cas de difficultés d'ordre technique lors de la soumission en ligne, veuillez communiquer avec nous à edaa@eqbank.ca. Nous vous répondrons dès que possible.

Soumettre

Soumission par la poste

Les artistes peuvent aussi poser leur candidature à l'EDAA par la poste. Si, pour une quelconque raison, vous préférez soumettre votre dossier par la poste, veuillez communiquer avec nous à edaa@eqbank.ca pour de plus amples renseignements.

Exigences relatives au fichier

Les critères suivants s'appliquent selon la catégorie de la soumission :

Catégorie Numérique Autres exigences
Animation Graphique .avi
.mov
.mpeg
.mp4
.wmv
.f4v
Le fichier des animations graphiques ne peut dépasser 1Go. Dans le cas d'œuvres contenant du son, les candidats doivent en détenir les droits. Si le son est l'œuvre d'autrui, il faut avoir obtenu la permission de l'utiliser et en créditer l'auteur. Si vous soumettez un projet Web ou une application mobile, veuillez inclure de brèves instructions au sein de votre énoncé d’artiste.
Image Numérique .gif
.jpeg
.png
Résolution maximale de 1280 sur 800 pixels, taille maximale du fichier: 500Mo.
Application .exe
.html
Les programmes interactifs doivent être compatibles avec Windows 7 ou une version ultérieure (les fichiers dont l'extension est .app ne sont pas acceptés).
Les sites Web ou les projets basés sur le Web doivent être compatibles avec Google Chrome ou Internet Explorer.

Les soumissions doivent être nommées selon la convention d'appellation suivante : InitialeDuPrénomNomDeFamille_TitreDeL'Œuvre.

FOIRE AUX QUESTIONS

Q: Quels sont les prix attribués?

A: Le lauré at du prix recevra un montant de 5000 $. Les quatre autres finalistes recevront chacun 1000 $.

Q: L'œuvre peut-elle comprendre des éléments matériels ou interactifs?

A: L’EDAA est réservé aux œuvres sur écran. Par conséquent, toute œuvre requérant un équipement de présentation autre qu’un simple écran sera considérée comme une installation. Dans ce cas, seul l’élément vidéo (qui participe à une œuvre plus complexe) pourrait être susceptible d’être accepté. Dans les cas d’œuvres web interactives ou de jeux interactifs, l’utilisation d’une souris ou d’un outil de navigation est acceptée.

Q: L'œuvre peut-elle comprendre des images dont les droits ne sont pas détenus par l'artiste?

A: Nous reconnaissons que l’échantillonnage est un outil couramment utilisé en arts numériques, et les œuvres qui comprennent des images soumises au droit d'auteur ne seront en aucune manière pénalisées lors du processus d'évaluation. Nous tenons toutefois à souligner que, conformément à nos modalités, l'artiste est seul responsable de son œuvre et de toute violation du droit d'auteur qu'elle comporte (se reporter au premier élément des « Engagements du participant »).

Q: Le prix de 5000 $ décerné à l'auteur de l'œuvre primée comprend-il le coût d'acquisition?

A: Le prix de 5000 $ comprend le coût d'acquisition de l'œuvre. Banque Équitable n'exige cependant pas que l'œuvre soit produite en tirage limité. Une œuvre accessible au public, en ligne ou autrement, sera aussi prise en considération. Si vous avez des questions concernant les politiques actuelles de collection et d'acquisition de la Banque Équitable, veuillez les faire parvenir à lleblanc@eqbank.ca.

Q: Pourquoi les finalistes doivent-ils assister à la projection?

A: La projection constitue une occasion de présenter en personne l'artiste ou les artistes à toute une communauté de travailleurs du domaine artistique, aux médias, à des admirateurs de la culture et au commanditaire. Banque Équitable veut célébrer votre succès en public et remercier personnellement tous les participants. À cette fin, nous assumerons les coûts d'hébergement et de transport pour les finalistes qui ne résident pas dans la région métropolitaine de Toronto. Ils pourront ainsi prendre part à la projection des œuvres des finalistes, à la remise du prix et à la réception.