Judges 2017

Jennifer Chan

Toronto, Ontario
View website

Jennifer Chan is an artist and web developer who makes stuff as social commentary on sex, success, love, equality, suffering, and happiness. Her work has been featured in Rhizome, LEAP, Modern Painter, Dazed, Sleek, and ARTFORUM. She has had solo exhibitions at LTD (Los Angeles), Transmediale (Berlin), ohmydays (Singapore), Future Gallery (Berlin) and Gallery CC (Malmö). Solo screenings of her work have appeared at Western Front (Vancouver), Vox Populi (Philadelphia), LTD (Los Angeles), The Nightingale (Chicago), and Images Festival (Toronto). Her work has shown at NADA (New York), Museum of Moving Image (NYC), Moving Image (London), Furtherfield (London), Abandon Normal Devices (Manchester), Museum of Modern Art (Warsaw), Dresden Art Fair, Whitebox Art Center (NYC), Eastern Bloc (Montreal), Kiasma (Helsinki), Interstate Projects (NYC), Trinity Square Video (Toronto), GLI.TC/H festival amongst others. She has made commissioned artwork for Kunsthaus Langenthal and Mexico Projects in Leeds. She was born in Ottawa, grew up in Hong Kong and now lives in Toronto.

Erin Gee

Montreal
View website

Erin Gee is an artist and composer who explores digital culture through metaphors of human voices in electronic bodies. Working across musical performance, choral composition, robotics, and audio art, Gee's practice is distinguished by an interdisciplinary approach to sound in art, music, as well as in areas of technology and natural science. She has collaborated with artists and composers such as Hamilton Children’s Choir, Stelarc, Andrea Young, and neurophysiologist Vaughan Macefield. Her research in sonification of physiological markers of emotion has been noted by Scientific American, VICE, MusicWorks, Canadian Art, and the National Post, among others. She is currently based in Montreal where she is working on an emotion controlled VR videogame.

Emily Fitzpatrick

Toronto

Emily Fitzpatrick is an independent curator and arts administrator who holds a master’s degree in Visual Studies from the John H. Daniels Faculty of Architecture, Landscape and Design at the University of Toronto. Her work involves temporary public art projects rooted in social practice. Recent curatorial projects include MMMMM...Gendai Kitchen, a food-art subscription service; On The Table, an artist multiple project speaking to issues related to gender-based violence and sexual harassment in public space; and Gallery Galleria, a group exhibition responding to a mall’s publics, economies, and aesthetics, both co-curated with the collective Aisle 4. She has extensive experience working within Toronto's artist-run centres and public institutions including Images Festival, the Art Museum at the University of Toronto, Gendai Gallery, and Art Metropole.

Juges 2017

Jennifer Chan

Toronto, Ontario
Voir le site web

Artiste et développeure web, crée, par l’entremise de son travail, des critiques sociales sur le sexe, le succès, l’amour, l’égalité, la souffrance et la joie. Son travail a fait l’objet d’articles dans Rhizome, LEAP, Modern Painter, Dazed, Sleek et ARTFORUM. Elle a tenu des expositions solos dans divers espaces, dont le LTD (Los Angeles), Transmediale (Berlin), ohmydays (Singapour), Future Gallery (Berlin) et la Gallery CC (Malmö). Les projections solos de son travail ont été présentées au Western Front (Vancouver), au Vox Populi (Philadelphie), au LTD (Los Angeles), à The Nightingale (Chicago) et au Images Festival (Toronto). Ses créations ont été exposées dans de nombreux lieux, notamment : NADA (New York), Museum of Moving Image (NYC), Moving Image (Londres), Furtherfield (Londres), Abandon Normal Devices (Manchester), Museum of Modern Art (Warsaw), Dresden Art Fair, Whitebox Art Center (NYC), Eastern Bloc (Montréal), Kiasma (Helsinki), Interstate Projects (NYC), Trinity Square Video (Toronto), ainsi qu’au GLI.TC/H festival. Elle a conçu des œuvres commandées par le musée Kunsthaus Langenthal et par Mexico Projects dans la ville de Leeds. Native d’Ottawa, elle a grandi à Hong Kong et vit actuellement à Toronto.

Erin Gee

Montreal
Voir le site web

Artiste-compositrice, Erin Gee explore la culture numérique sous forme de métaphores composées de voix humaines issues de corps électroniques. Erin Gee s’investit dans les prestations musicales, les compositions chorales, la robotique et l’art audio. Sa démarche artistique se distingue par une approche interdisciplinaire du son dans les arts, dans la musique et dans les domaines de la technologie et des sciences naturelles. Elle a collaboré avec divers artistes et compositeurs, dont la chorale pour enfants de Hamilton (Hamilton Children’s Choir), Stelarc, Andrea Young et le neurophysiologiste Vaughan Macefield. Sa recherche portant sur la sonification des marqueurs physiologiques des émotions a été remarquée par la plateforme VICE, les magazines Scientific American, MusicWorks et Canadian Art et par le quotidien National Post, pour ne nommer que ceux-là. Elle habite actuellement à Montréal, où elle travaille sur un jeu vidéo de réalité virtuelle contrôlé par les émotions.

Emily Fitzpatrick

Toronto

Emily Fitzpatrick est administratrice des arts et commissaire indépendante. Elle a obtenu une maîtrise en études visuelles auprès de la John H. Daniels Faculty of Architecture, Landscape and Design de l’Université de Toronto. Elle s’intéresse aux projets temporaires d’art public résolument ancrés dans la pratique sociale. Parmi les récents projets dont elle a été commissaire, on compte MMMMM... Gendai Kitchen, un service d’abonnement aux arts culinaires; On The Table, dans le cadre duquel des artistes se réunissent pour traiter de la violence et du harcèlement sexuels dans les lieux publics; et Gallery Galleria, une exposition collective permettant de réagir aux publics, aux économies et à l’esthétique des centres commerciaux – les deux derniers projets ont été organisés conjointement avec Aisle 4. Elle possède une vaste expérience de collaboration avec des centres administrés par des artistes et des établissements publics de Toronto, dont Images Festival, le musée d’art de l’Université de Toronto, la galerie Gendai et Art Metropole.